Show Instruction how to use this Communities Map.


1) Community names and localities are shown according to the Russian Empire census of 1897.
2) Seven Jewish communities were in existence before 1500: Kiev Community was established in 930, Korosten in 965, Chernihiv in 1054, Chernobyl in 1193, Cherkassy in 1487, Orynin in 1474, and Shepetivka in 1490.
3) The map and associated table above represent 114 selected Jewish communities located mainly in the central part of Ukraine. The total Jewish population of the selected communities represents 18.3% of the entire Jewish population of Ukraine in 1897.